W. Brent Burgin Archives: Research Collections

The archives and special collections in the Native American Studies Center houses books, photographs, slides, maps, official records, personal correspondence, and more documenting the history, life, and culture of the Native American Indian Tribes of South Carolina and the southeastern United States.

Accessing the Collections:

1. The Reading Room Library is focused on Native American history and culture of the American Southeast, particularly that of South Carolina. While the library collection is primarily books, it also includes self publications, reports of archaeological field work, and other nonfiction documents. Items in this library can be searched through Medford Library's online catalog. 

2. The Native American South Carolina Digital Archive is hosted online. It can be freely accessed anytime, by anyone. These items include interviews, videos, images, and maps, While the digitized collection is growing, it does not include all items from the physical holdings. 

3. As a closed stacks archive, the physical collections are kept at the Native American Studies Center and can be accessed and used onsite or, in some cases, remotely. To access these materials, please make an appointment with the Archivist.

Listed below are links to the Finding Aids for the archives. These aids will give you an idea of what can be found in the archives and within which research collection it may be located.

Collections

• Steven Guy Baker Collection
• T.J. Blumer Collection on the Catawba Nation
• Monty Hawk Branham Collection
• Gene Joseph Crediford Collection
• William Fred Fischer Collection
• Garfield Crawford Harris Collection
• Dr. Alice Bee Kasakoff Collection
• David Livingston Pittman Collection
• David Lindsay Pettus Collection
• Early Fred Sanders Collection
• Wesley Durant Taukchiray Collection
• Rosemary Clark Whitlock Collection

Digital Gallery

• Photographs and Slides from the Gene Crediford Collection
• T.J. Blumer Collection on the Catawba Indian

Reference Materials

• South Carolina Native American Entities Reference Files
• Genealogical Materials located in the USC Lancaster Native American Studies Archive