Government Documents: Health, Medicine, and Nutrition

The National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) is pleased to offer downloadable public-use data files through the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s (CDC) FTP file server. Users of this service have access to data sets, documentation, and questionnaires from NCHS surveys and data collection systems.

This Website is an official U.S. government site offering tools for exploring cancer statistics. It features two main tools: SEERExplorer, which provides comprehensive cancer statistics for 48% of the U.S. population, and NCCRExplorer, focusing on childhood, adolescent, and young adult cancers for 66% of the population. Both tools offer data on incidence and survival, while SEER*Explorer also includes mortality, prevalence, and risk data. The site is supported by the Surveillance Research Program (SRP) in NCI's Division of Cancer Control and Population Sciences (DCCPS).

openFDA provides APIs and raw download access to a number of high-value, high priority and scalable structured datasets, including adverse events, drug product labeling, and recall enforcement reports.

The mission of the Methods and Application of Food Composition Laboratory (MAFCL) is to identify critical food composition needs for researchers, policymakers, food producers and consumers. MAFCL develops and maintains food composition databases for foods available in the United States; conducts research on the impact of the environment, production, and preparation on food composition and intake; and develops new and improved analytical methods.

On this site, you can find data on a wide range of topics, including environmental health, medical devices, Medicare & Medicaid, social services, community health, mental health, and substance abuse.
The data is collected and supplied from agencies from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services as well as state partners. This includes the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Food and Drug Administration, and the Agency for Health Care Research and Quality, among others.

The Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics (Forum) is a collection of 23 Federal government agencies involved in research and activities related to children and families. The Forum was founded in 1994 and formally established in April 1997 under Executive Order No. 13045. The mission of the Forum is to foster coordination and collaboration and to enhance and improve consistency in the collection and reporting of Federal data on children and families. The Forum also aims to improve the reporting and dissemination of information on the status of children and families.

_________________________________

_________________________________