Medical Apartheid
by
Caring for Equality
by
Farming While Black
by
Adapted from ASALH 2022 Theme Materials book list. This list reflects books currently in Medford Library's print and electronic collections:
Image by Stephen Voss
From the author's website:
Dr. Ibram X. Kendi is the Andrew W. Mellon Professor in the Humanities at Boston University, and the founding director of the BU Center for Antiracist Research. He is a contributing writer at The Atlantic and a CBS News racial justice contributor.
Dr. Kendi is the author of many highly acclaimed books including Stamped from the Beginning: The Definitive History of Racist Ideas in America, which won the National Book Award for Nonfiction, making him the youngest ever winner of that award. He had also produced five straight #1 New York Times bestsellers, including How to Be an Antiracist, Antiracist Baby, and Stamped: Racism, Antiracism, and You, co-authored by Jason Reynolds. In 2020, Time magazine named Dr. Kendi one of the 100 most influential people in the world. He was awarded a 2021 MacArthur Fellowship, popularly known as the Genius Grant. His next two books, coming out in June, are How to Raise an Antiracist and the picture book, Goodnight Racism.
For more information, please visit www.ibramxkendi.com. Check out these books by this author in Medford's catalog:
The Black Campus Movement
by
How to Be an Antiracist
by
Stamped: Racism, Antiracism, and You
by
Stamped from the Beginning
by
Image courtesy of the John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation
From the author's website:
Jesmyn Ward received her MFA from the University of Michigan and is currently a professor of creative writing at Tulane University. She is the author of the novels Where the Line Bleeds and Salvage the Bones, which won the 2011 National Book Award, and Sing, Unburied, Sing, which won the 2017 National Book Award. She is also the editor of the anthology The Fire This Time and the author of the memoir Men We Reaped, which was a finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award. From 2008-2010, Ward had a Stegner Fellowship at Stanford University. She was the John and Renée Grisham Writer in Residence at the University of Mississippi for the 2010-2011 academic year. In 2016, the American Academy of Arts and Letters selected Ward for the Strauss Living Award. She lives in Mississippi.
For more information, visit https://www.jesmynwardauthor.com. Check out these books by this author in Medford's catalog:
Sing, Unburied, Sing
by
Salvage the Bones
by
The Fire This Time
by
Men We Reaped
by
portrait of N.K. Jemisin by Laura Hanifin, 2015
From the author's website:
N. K. Jemisin is the first author in the genre’s history to win three consecutive Best Novel Hugo Awards, for her Broken Earth trilogy. Her work has won the Nebula and Locus Awards, and she is a 2020 MacArthur Fellow. The first book in her current Great Cities trilogy, THE CITY WE BECAME, is a New York Times bestseller. Her speculative works range from fantasy to science fiction to the undefinable; her themes include resistance to oppression, the inseverability of the liminal, and the coolness of Stuff Blowing Up. She’s been an instructor for Clarion and Clarion West writing workshops. Among other critical work, she was formerly the science fiction and fantasy book reviewer at the New York Times. In her spare time she’s a gamer and gardener, responsible for saving the world from KING OZZYMANDIAS, her dangerously intelligent ginger cat, and his destructive sidekick, the Marvelous Master Magpie.
For more information, please visit https://nkjemisin.com. Check out these books by this author in Medford's catalog:
The City We Became
by
How Long 'til Black Future Month?
by
The Fifth Season
by
The Killing Moon
by
Photo Credit: Photo by COLLEEN DURKIN
From the author's website:
Her works include WHO FEARS DEATH (in development at HBO into a TV series), the BINTI novella trilogy (optioned and in development with Media Res), THE BOOK OF PHOENIX, the AKATA books and LAGOON. She is the winner of Hugo, Nebula, World Fantasy, Locus and Lodestar Awards and her debut novel ZAHRAH THE WINDSEEKER won the prestigious Wole Soyinka Prize for Literature. Her next novel, NOOR, will be in stores November 2021.
Nnedi has also written comics for Marvel, including BLACK PANTHER: LONG LIVE THE KING and WAKANDA FOREVER (featuring the Dora Milaje) and the SHURI series, an Africanfuturist comic series LAGUARDIA (winner of the Hugo and Eisner Award) and her short memoir BROKEN PLACES AND OUTER SPACES. Nnedi is also cowriting the adaptation of Octavia Butler’s WILD SEED with Viola Davis and Kenyan film director Wanuri Kahiu. Nnedi holds a PhD (literature) and two MAs (journalism and literature). She lives with her daughter Anyaugo and family in Phoenix, Arizona.
For more information, please visit https://nnedi.com. Check out these books by this author in Medford's catalog:
Akata Witch
by
Binti: the Night Masquerade
by
Shuri: the Search for Black Panther
by
Who Fears Death
by
Zahrah the Windseeker
by
Portrait of Toni Morrison, Robert F. Goheen Professor in the Humanities, Emeritus
Photo: Princeton University, Office of Communications, Sameer A. Khan/Fotobuddy (2012)
From the author's Nobel Prize Laureate biography:
Born Chloe Anthony Wofford, in 1931 in Lorain (Ohio), the second of four children in a black working-class family. Displayed an early interest in literature. Studied humanities at Howard and Cornell Universities, followed by an academic career at Texas Southern University, Howard University, Yale, and since 1989, a chair at Princeton University. She has also worked as an editor for Random House, a critic, and given numerous public lectures, specializing in African-American literature. She made her debut as a novelist in 1970, soon gaining the attention of both critics and a wider audience for her epic power, unerring ear for dialogue, and her poetically-charged and richly-expressive depictions of Black America. A member since 1981 of the American Academy of Arts and Letters, she has been awarded a number of literary distinctions, among them the Pulitzer Prize in 1988.
Toni Morrison – Biographical. NobelPrize.org. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2022. Wed. 2 Feb 2022. https://www.nobelprize.org/prizes/literature/1993/morrison/biographical
The Bluest Eye
by
Song of Solomon
by
Playing in the Dark
by
The Source of Self-Regard
by
Check out these organizations and resources to learn more about this year's theme, Black Health & Wellness. This list is transcribed from the ASALH 2022 Theme Materials infographic by the Association for the Study of African American Life and History:
CONSORTIUM ON THE HISTORY OF AFRICAN AMERICANS IN THE MEDICAL PROFESSIONS: CHAAMP Resources, a growing collection of digital media and teaching resources on the history and of African Americans in the medical professions.
NATIONAL LIBRARY OF MEDICINE, HISTORY OF MEDICINE DIVISION: The National Library of Medicine has an extensive collection of research materials on Africans American in Science, Medicine, and the Health Professions. This material includes a comprehensive list of books with autobiographies and biographies of leading African American physicians, scientists, and nurses.
SYLLABUS: A HISTORY OF ANTI-BLACK RACISM IN MEDICINE: This syllabus offers insight into longstanding American health and healthcare disparities , while simultaneously paving way for equitable health for all underrepresented populations.
MOREHOUSE SCHOOL OF MEDICINE DIGITAL ARCHIVES: The Morehouse School of Medicine Digital Archives consists of historical publications, documents, and photographs of administrators, faculty members, staff, visitors, and facilities related to the founding of the school and its development. It was founded in 1975, as the Medical Education Program (MEP) at Morehouse College, a member institution of the Atlanta University Center. Later, the name was changed to the School of Medicine at Morehouse College, and later still, to the Morehouse School of Medicine (MSM), when it became a separate independent institution.
THE HISTORY OF AFRICAN AMERICANS AND ORGANIZED MEDICINE: Segregation and racism within the medical profession have, and continue to, profoundly impact the African American community. Yet, the complex history of race in the medical profession is rarely acknowledged and often misunderstood. The AMA Institute for Ethics invited a panel of experts to review and analyze the historical roots of the black-white divide in American medicine. The following is a summary of the panel's findings, along with other resources.
BLACK HISTORY AT DUKE HEALTH: This guide aims to introduce researchers to materials documenting the history of African Americans at the Duke University Medical Center. The focus is on navigating resources within the Medical Center Archives. It is not intended to be a comprehensive bibliography, but rather a starting guide to locating research materials.
SLAVERY, ABOLITION, EMANCIPATION AND FREEDOM PRIMARY SOURCES FROM HOUGHTON LIBRARY: Houghton’s collections related to Black history range from the 18th century through today, but have historically been difficult to discover amongst all the other material. This collection brings together a curated collection of materials ranging from the Early Republic through Reconstruction.
NATIONAL ARCHIVES AND RECORDS ADMINISTRATION: Researchers can make use of a wide range of materials through NARA's primary source collections.
DIGITIAL PUBLIC LIBRARY OF AMERICA: Primary source sets recommended by ASALH:
<
